Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

December 8, 2012

New Mexico High School Football State Champs

Untitled Document

Today we look at the 2012 New Mexico State Football Champions. Feel free to share these videos with your friends and family. These video classics are for the Student Athletes and Coaches of New Mexico.

St. Michael's Horsemen 13-0 3A State Champs

St. Michael's 10, Silver 7
The St. Michael's Horsemen completed the perfect season Saturday at Ivan Head Stadium in Santa Fe, New Mexico beating Silver in a hard fought defensive battle 10-7. In a game plagued with turn-overs and punts, the Horsemen took at 3-0 lead at half time after a 49-yard field goal form Horsemen Santo Coppla. Silver answered back late in the third quarter when Nevada Bencomo broke what looked like six Horsemen tackles to make it 7-3, however the Horsemen would take a 10-7 lead when Horsemen Quarterback Cory Serna found Daniel Ortega in the end-zone to make it 10-7 just before the third quarter ended. Silver had several opportunities to take the lead or even tie, but the Horsemen defense was the difference.

Santa Rosa Lions 13-0 2A State Champs

Santa Rosa 28, Tularosa 0
The Santa Rosa Lions played host to the visiting Tularosa Wildcats on a crisp Saturday afternoon at Frank Ortiz Pride Field, as both teams were in contention for the Class 2A state championship title. The Storyline of the game was the Santa Rosa Lion defense as they were able to shut out the Tularosa Wildcats and prevent the Wildcats from getting anything going offensively on the afternoon as Jared Rocha and Jim Coleman were completely shut down. The Wildcats were pressured all afternoon long and had some turnovers that Santa Rosa was able to convert into points. The Defense stepped up for the Lions and the offense followed suit as NMPreps.com 1st team all state Running Back Marcus Lopez lead the way offensively for the Lions and racked up over 125 yards rushing and 3 TD's. Defensively the charge was lead by all NMPreps.com 1st team all state Defensive End Miguel Sisneros and NMPreps.com First team all state Linebacker Tim Valverde and shutdown corner Dillon Cordova. The Combined team effort of the Lions overwhelmed the Wildcats and lead the Lions to an undefeated season going 13-0 and a 3rd consecutive state championship and a season that will surely be talked about for years to come as the Lions and Head Coach Mario Trujillo have surely left their mark in the High School Football History Books by accomplishing what they did on this historic afternoon in Santa Rosa New Mexico.

Las Cruces Bulldawgs 11-1 5A State Champs

Las Cruces 35, Sandia 28
The Las Cruces Bulldawgs won their fifth state football championship under Head Coach Jim Miller Friday Night defeating Sandia 35-28 to end the season as 5A State Champs. The Bulldawgs jumped to a 21-0 after three Jonathan Joy touchdowns. Joy first scored on a 19-yard touchdown run, then hit Michael Calzada for a 16-yard touchdown pass, and then scored on a 37-yard touchdown run. Sandia down 21-0 in the 2nd quarter never quite and showed some amazing resiliency as Craig Coffman threw two touchdown passes right before half to make the score 21-12 at the break. The Bulldawgs again went up 28-12 when Joy hit Sam Denmark for a 58-yard touchdown pass, and then went up 35-12 after J.J. Granados scored on an 8-yard rushing touchdown. Sandia, again would mount a comeback as Coffman would throw two more touchdown passes and Sandia would convert two successful two point conversions to make it 35-28 with just minutes to go in the fourth quarter. Sandia recovered the ensuing kick-off, but Coffman threw an interception to Denmark, a play which sealed the game for the Las Cruces Bulldawgs.

Goddard Rockets 12-0 4A State Champs

Goddard 17, Los Lunas 14
The Goddard Rockets faced off against the Los Lunas Tigers on Friday Night, as both teams went into the matchup undefeated, and looking to cap off the highly coveted perfect season with a state championship. The game was a tough and physical defensive battle for the majority of the game and both teams battled until the very end. The game was tied 7-7 at the half and both teams looked about as evenly matched as you could be at the break. However it was Los Lunas who came out of the half and scored first, but Goddard would answer back as they have all season long to tie the game at 14-14 with 5:00 left in the 4th quarter. Then after a series of defensive struggles the Goddard Rockets threw the ball down field hoping to catch the Tigers off guard, they managed to pick up the lengthy 3rd down conversion thanks to a defensive pass interference against Los Lunas. The penalty would end up costing Los Lunas greatly and put Goddard in prime position for NMPreps.com's 1st team all state kicker Kelsey Cunningham to kick the game winning field goal. The Kick sailed through the uprights as time expired giving The Goddard Rockets its first unbeaten season and the Championship Trophy. Cody French, Anthony Ornales, David Sweet, Kullen Wooton and David Chavers paved the way for the Rockets on the night.

Escalante Lobos 11-1 Class 1A State Champs

Capitan 48, Capitan 30

The Escalante Lobos defeated the Capitan Tigers to win their first football state championship in school history. Escalante Quarterback Reynaldo Atencio scored six touchdowns as the Lobos won a wild one.

New Mexico NEWS


Latest Headlines:


Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos NMPreps.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.