Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

December 12, 2012

NMPreps.com's 2012 Coach of the Year Awards

Untitled Document

Today we honor the 2012 NMPreps.com Coaches of the Year. Coaches were selected based off overall success in 2012, their year over year success, and factors such as: Win/Loss Record, District Championship, State Championship, Making History at their High School, etc.

Tate Branch Auto Group is the official sponsor of the Coach of the Year Award.

5A North Coach of the Year: Kevin Barker - Sandia
The Matadors finished the season 9-4 and reached the 2012 State Title Game for the first time since the 1977 season. Barker's first trip back to the title game since the 1997 season and this was beyond a special group of seniors headlined by players like Aaron Smith, Brendan Barker, Buck Walden, and a few other three year starters. Oh, by the way, Sandia finished just 4-7 back in 2011.
5A South Coach of the Year: Ray Gerela - Gadsden
Guerla has super bowl rings from being with the Pittsburgh Steelers back in the 70's but what he did at Gadsden may overshadow his efforts coaching at the high school football ranks. In his first year at Gadsden, Guerla took over a program that went 0-10 back in 2011 to .500 in just one season. The Panthers beat Onate and Alamogordo in the same season. They missed the play-offs, but that is a +5 win turn around season.
4A North Coach of the Year: Jeremy Newton - Los Lunas
Newton took over Los Lunas back in 2010 and since that time period, Los Lunas is 30-6 and reached their first State Football Title in school history. Their offense and defense were pretty much incredible on the season scoring over 40.0 points per game and allowing less than a touchdown per game. They also beat Class 5A Runner Up Sandia this year 20-7 and lost to unbeaten Goddard off a 4th quarter field goal 17-14 in the title game.
4A South Coach of the Year: Sam Jernigan - Goddard
Coach Jernigan and the Rockets completed their first ever perfect season going 12-0 beating Los Lunas in the Class 4A State Title Game. Jernigan has now coached in 13 state Title Games and has a career record of 6-7 in the big game. Since 2008, Goddard is 58-7 with three state title titles.
3A Coach of the Year: Joey Fernandez - St. Michael's
Joey Fernandez and the St. Michael's Horsemen completed the first ever perfect season in St. Michael's Football History, to make history. In a 10-7 win over the Silver Colts the Horsemen stayed perfect with big defense all year giving up less than a touchdown per game. The Horsemen's last state title under Fernandez came back in 2007 when the Horsemen went 12-2 defeating Robertson.
2A Coach of the Year: Mario Martinez - Santa Rosa
For the third year in a row the Santa Rosa Lions won the 2A State Title, something that has never happened before in Santa Rosa history and went undefeated for the first time since the Santa Rosa Lions 1998 Team did. The perfect season at 13-0 was capped off by a 28-0 win over Tularosa in the 2A State Title Game.
3A Coach of the Year: Dusty Giles - Escalante
A product of Artesia, Giles has brought that state championship taste to Escalante as the Lobos won their first ever football state championship going 11-1 on the year and beating Capitan 48-30 this season.

Comment Here


New Mexico NEWS


Latest Headlines:


Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos NMPreps.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.