Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

July 10, 2014

Henderson: 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, and 50-years ago

Today we look back at 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, and 50-years ago throughout the history of New Mexico High School Football. Premium Subscribers can comment on this story by clicking here.

5-years ago in 2009

La Cueva won the 5A State Title under Fred Romero defeating Mayfield 31-14. Then Junior Running Back Ronnie Daniels ran for 2,000-yards and scored more than 34 touchdowns. Goddard defeated Belen in the 2009 Class 4A State Title Game 28-21. Belen's offense was incredible scoring an average of 49.5 points per game (644 total points on the season). Lovington defeated Socorro in the 3A finals (Faith vs. Ocampo). Tularosa won the 2A State Title Game defeating Lordsburg 35-0, Hagerman won Class 1A defeating Clayton in a thriller 13-12, and Melrose went undefeated 11-0 beating Tatum in the 8-Man finals 64-14.

10-years ago in 2004

La Cueva went 13-0 under Fred Romero defeating Clovis 40-0 in the 5A State Title Game. Some say this was La Cueva's best team ever and New Mexico's best team ever with more than 7 D-1 Prospects. That year in-fact La Cueva allowed just 1.6 points per game on defense (21 points allowed all season long). This was also the year of Chris Williams out of Rio Rancho who scored 33 touchdowns and racked up a 2,000-yard season as a Ram before committing to New Mexico State. That same year Artesia defeated Silver in the 4A title 42-0. Lovington won the 3A State Title under Speedy Faith defeating St. Michael's 40-14. Hatch Valley under Head Caoch Charles Gleghorn won the 2A State Title defeating Santa Rosa 46-7. That year, Hatch scored 53.8 points per game (699 points in the entire season) which is still a state record. Texico won the 1A State Tate defeating Coudcroft 35-7 and Melrose went 11-1 defeating Floyd 76-60.

15-years ago in 1999

Las Cruces would win their first ever State Football Championship under Jim Miller (who now has 6) defeating Goddard 24-12. Believe this was the year where Las Cruces had a running back nick named senor touchdown. St. Pius X won the 4A Title defeating Artesia 22-12 under San Juan Mendoza. Eunice defeating Menual 18-0 (this was the year Menual won a court ruling to play after using an ineligible player to defeat St. Mike's). Jal defeating rival Lovington 26-0 and Melrose won the 6-man title defeating Roy 42-36.

20-years ago in 1994

Clovis won the 4A State Title defeating Goddard 14-10. Artesia won the 3A title defeating Lovington 35-21 (Henderson vs. Speedy Faith). In the year of the Bulldog JD Champion of Artesia recorded 12 interceptions on the season. Eunice led by Head Coach David Lynn defeated Tularosa 13-0, Jal under David Fouts defeated Capitan 34-0, and Melrose under Dale Means defeated Ramah 54-31.

25-years ago in 1989

Highland won the 4A State Title defeating Clovis 6-0. Goddard won the 4A State Title under Jim Hite defeating Lovington 6-0 in that same year. Animas was still rolling on their winning streak (would end the following year) defeating Santa Rosa and Head Coach Frank Ortiz 51-6 in the finals. Loving defeated Tatum 11-7 in the 1A Finals and Mountainair won the 6-Man Title defeating Magdalena 74-28.

50-years agin in 1964

Artesia won the AA state title game defeating Highland. LG Henderson defeating Bill Gentry 20-6. Highland's winning streak of 23 consecutive games in a row ended this year (Lasted since 1962). St. Michael's won the A state title defeating St. Mary's 12-6. Kirtland won the B title defeating Eunice 14-0 and Carrizozo defeated Roy 26-7 for the C title.

Please take a minute to visit our 2014 Sponsors

2014 Sponsors

Please take a minute to visit our 2014 Sponsors


New Mexico NEWS


Latest Headlines:

Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos NMPreps.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.